ETIAS and **ETA**

ETIAS and **ETA** are travel authorisation schemes being implemented for visa-exempt nationals to visit certain European countries. The table below summarises and illustrates similarities and differences between the two schemes. Visa-exempt travellers travelling to the Schengen Area should also note the new scheme EES being implemented before ETIAS.

Further information on the EU schemes (EES and ETIAS) and UK scheme (ETA) as well as official communication resources can be found on ETOA's visas and borders webpage: https://www.etoa.org/operating-in-europe/visas-and-borders/

	ETIAS	ETA
Official website	www.europa.eu/etias	www.gov.uk/electronic-travel- authorisation
Implementing countries	Schengen Area + Cyprus (30 countries) All countries in the EU/EFTA (except Ireland)	United Kingdom (England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales)
Applicable to	Visa-exempt third country nationals (non-EU/non-EFTA) visiting for short-stay (90/180 days) Exemptions include British (UK) nationals resident in Ireland before 2021. Third country nationals resident in any of the 30 countries are excluded from the scheme.	Visa-exempt nationals (excluding British/Irish) visiting for short-stay (6 months) - start date varies by nationality Exemptions: • visa-exempt nationals resident in Ireland (not British/Irish) when travelling to the UK from Ireland or elsewhere in the Common Travel Area • Children on school trips from France (adults supervising the children still need to apply for an ETA if their nationality is visa-exempt).
Start date	Not yet in operation (start date to be announced) Will be applicable to all visa-exempt	In operation for nationals of GCC countries Start date for remaining visa-exempt
	nationals at the same time from start date. There will be a transition period of at	nationals: 8 January 2025 – rest of the world (excluding EU/EFTA) e.g. Japan, USA
	least 6 months from start date whereby ETIAS will not be a requirement as well as a further grace period following the transition period.	2 April 2025 - EU/EFTA nationals (excluding Irish) and European microstates

ETIAS and **ETA**

Cost	€7 per person (person aged under 18 or over 70 at time of application is exempt from paying although still need to apply)	£10 per person (payable by all ages)
Validity	3 years or until expiration of travel document, whichever is sooner (multiple entries permitted during validity)	2 years or until expiration of travel document, whichever is sooner (multiple entries permitted during validity)
To apply (in advance of travel)	Apply either via official website or ETIAS mobile app (authorisation is linked to travel document i.e. passport)	Currently possible to apply for: - nationals of GCC countries for any travel date - nationals from rest of the world (excluding EU/EFTA) for travel to the UK from 8 January 2025 Apply from 5 March 2025 - EU/EFTA nationals (excluding Irish) and European microstates Apply either via official website or ETA mobile app (authorisation is linked to travel document i.e. passport)
Air-side transiting	Not required to apply	Required to apply
Application form language	24 (all official <u>EU languages</u>)	1 (English)
Biometric data when applying	Not required as collected by EES	Facial image required if age 10+ applying via mobile app
Third parties permitted to apply on behalf of traveller	Yes (with <u>declaration of representation</u>)	Yes (third party should use official website to apply where the traveller is not present with third party)

Last reviewed: 27 November 2024

Disclaimer: While best efforts have been made to verify the accuracy of the information, the information displayed should be used as guidance only.

©2024 European Tourism Association (ETOA)

